Mothers Before Their Time

I’ve been in a Seventh-day Adventist Church in Queens for about 19 years. Basically, I grew up there. Being in a church (or any community for that matter) for that amount of time has made me aware of certain patterns. There are certainly many good patterns, but today I will like to point out one that can have different results.

The appearance of a new-born baby always bring joy into a community. Everyone is eager to watch he/she grow and to see what kind of individual develops. In the process of interacting with the baby, many young women find themselves playing the mother role. One might think that this is not a problem, and I would agree that it’s not always a problem. The problem arises when every worship service is used as an opportunity to take care of a baby while the mother is worshipping. The problem is not that it happens once in awhile, but because it becomes habitual.

The young women that I’m referring to, where usually between the ages of 14/15 to 21. They would miss the entire worship service and probably didn’t get the real sense of the sermon. Is this entirely their fault? Certainly not, the mothers of the babies who are being taken also are to be blamed. It is their responsibility to make sure that they are the ones who are taking care of the babies during the worship service.

Perhaps this pattern has contributed to young women leaving the church, or even to them having babies at a young age. Who knows? I certainly don’t, but I do know that “There is an appointed time for everything. And there is a time for every event under heaven” (Ecc. 3:1). I guess my concern can be stated in this manner; “What are they missing and what are they gaining when they are engage in such activity every Sabbath?”

5 comments on “Mothers Before Their Time

  1. I totally agree with this. I see it happening all the time in Beraca and it makes me sick. Mothers needs to start taking care of their responsibilities. And their children is their responsibilities. Young women at Beraca needs to start staying inside the church and get their blessings just like those mothers are getting there’s……

    • Perhaps we can find a way to communicate this to the moms. They may be just happy for the break not realizing the potential implications of their action. This is also the responsibility of the children’s parents who allow them to baby sit at a time when they should be sitting at Jesus’ feet. It all boils down to parents. What an awesome yet oft callously held responsibility! Teach them.

      • I agree, the parents are responsible for allowing this to occur.

        Though it is difficult to gather all the parents and give them an analysis of the past and present day stats concerning this issue, I will try to present it to the members who are responsible of familial concerns in my church.

  2. This is interesting my brother. I’ve noticed this at almost church I go to, young girls who are so excited at the idea of taking care of babies that they completely miss what’s going on inside the church. Someone’s got to do something.

  3. Thanks for the comments.

    I think this needs further evaluation and therefore I will have to return to it in another blog at a later time. Here are some things to consider:

    1. Whoever (or whatever) is around the child, has an impact on the development of that child. To be more specific, the young people who are watching over these babies are “unaware” of the fact that they are affecting the child’s character. Even if it is to a small degree.

    2. What counsel is there (Biblical and EGW) concerning the importance of the parental role in the child’s life, especially in those early years?

    Jerry

Comments are closed.